How to Use Block Rules Options

Updated on February 2, 2024

What’s in This Guide

Block Rules options give you the power to do the following actions on a Block Controls rules group (such as Device Rules and User Rules):

  • Copy
  • Paste
  • Restore Defaults
  • Disable Rules

For example, you can copy the User Rules you set up for a paragraph block and paste them into an image block to save you time.

We cover each option in this guide. Let’s start!

How to Find the Rules Group Options

Select a block. While your block is still selected, click Enable Controls under Block Controls in the block settings sidebar.

Click the plus icon ( ) to enable a rules group. That plus icon will turn into a vertical three-dot icon.

Click the vertical three-dot icon ( More menu (3 vertical dots or kebab menu) ) next to each rules group under Block Controls to see a dropdown of the actions you can take for each rules group.

Heads up!
We use the User Rules group in the examples below. But the instructions are the same for all rules groups.

Copy a Rules Group

Click Copy. That copies the settings string for the rules group to your clipboard.

Paste a Rules Group

Click Paste.

Paste the settings string for the rules group you copied into the Settings Import popup.

At the time of writing, the Merge with existing settings? toggle always replaces existing settings.

Click Import Settings to copy and overwrite any existing settings.

Click Publish or Update to save your changes.

Restore the Defaults for a Rules Group

Click Restore Defaults.

The rules group goes back to the original default settings. For example, User Rules goes back to:

  • WHO CAN SEE THIS CONTENT: Logged In Users
  • USER ROLE: Any

Click Publish or Update to save your changes.

Disable a Rules Group

Click Disable User Rules.

Disabling (turning off) a rules group deletes the rules in that group and deactivates (turns off) that group. You’ll see the plus icon again instead of the vertical three-dot icon next to the rules group.

The Block Controls stay enabled (on), so any active rules will keep working for that block.

If you want to re-activate (turn on) that rules group again, click the plus icon. The three-dot icon and the default settings come back.

Click Publish or Update to save your changes.

Is this article helpful? What are your feelings