How To Add, Edit, and Delete a Global Restriction

Updated on February 28, 2024

What’s in This Guide

This guide gives you step-by-step instructions for adding, editing, deleting, and even cloning a Global Restriction.

Heads up!
This guide applies only to Global Restrictions. If you want to restrict a block in the WordPress editor, read A Quick Start to Your First Block Restriction.

How To Add and Edit a Global Restriction

Click Add Restriction to create a new global restriction

After you create a Global Restriction, there are 2 ways you can go back to edit it.

The first (and fastest) way to edit a restriction is to click right on the restriction name.

Click the restriction name to edit it

The second way you can edit a restriction is to hover over the restriction and then click Edit.

Hover over the restriction, then click Edit

How To Delete a Global Restriction

Content Control supports “soft” and “hard” deletes.

You can mark a restriction as trashed. You can “untrash” restrictions marked as trashed (i.e., undo).

Or you can permanently delete trashed restrictions. You cannot undo permanently deleted restrictions.

Let’s dive into how to do both.

Click Trash to flag your restriction as trashed

Clicking Trash does 4 things:

  1. Turns off your restriction (deactivates it)
  2. Changes the status to the trash can icon ( )
  3. Dims the background to a faded red color
  4. Offers the Untrash and Delete Permanently actions

You can click Untrash to restore a trashed restriction.

Click Delete Permanently to trash your restriction forever

Warning: You can’t undo this.

Can I Clone a Restriction?

Yes, you can! There isn’t built-in clone/copy support. But all you need to do is export the restriction you want to clone and import it as an exact copy.

Here’s how that’s done.

1. Click the checkbox next to the restriction you want to clone

2. Click Bulk Actions

3. Click Export Selected

Save the content-control-restrictions.json file to your computer when prompted.

4. Click the additional options (kebab) menu

5. Click Import

Select the content-control-restrictions.json file you exported to your computer earlier.

6. Search for the name of the restriction you cloned

The new copy will have the same name as the original. But it’ll be disabled, and it’ll be the lowest-ranked restriction in your list.

Is this article helpful? What are your feelings